That Pesky "Dinsoaurs lived millions of years ago" thing...

Comments

• Reply 141 of 212
    craiger77craiger77 Posts: 133member
    I don't think this thread is going all that bad. As a biologist I find it interesting to read how others interpret evolution. I get as upset as anyone here when creationist types force their religion as science, but at the same time am fascinated by people who believe so strongly against overwhelming evidence to the contrary.

Anyway, given that the Demilitarized Zone (having grown up during the Vietnam war that is all I think of when seeing the letters DMZ) has finally tried to answer the "baleen problem" I thought I would weigh in.

First, lets clarify what baleen whales eat. Most people think it is just plankton which they envision as being tiny little things they saw under the microscope when looking at pond water in biology class. Actually, plankton can be as large as shrimp size and many, if not most, baleen whales eat fish if they are in high enough concentrations. The lunge feeding that DMZ referred to is in fact used to catch small schooling fishes such as herring and capelin.