A look back at Windows, a Linux user's view.

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Here is a little heads up about this thread.... This thread deals with such far out topics as Linux, Windows and the contrast between them. So don't give me any flack about wanting the time it took you to read this post back because I don't wanna hear it and you have been warned about it's contents. Anyhow...

I have been using Linux as my main OS for a few years now... and I have been very happy with it. Part of being a Linux user is choice, there is so many things to choose when it comes to your operating system unlike just using what "they" give you in the closed source world. Today, I did something that I thought I would never do again. I installed Windows XP on my computer. Why, you might ask? seeing how I am a happy Linux user... Because I thought I would give it another shot from a different point of view.

So this is what I have done. I have installed Windows XP over my old Slackware Linux installation. I plan on keeping Windows on my box (no matter how upsetting/frustrating it gets) until May 9th. At which time I will buy (yes, buy) SuSE Linux Pro 9.1. (which would be just released at that time)

So I am forcing myself to ruff it out for the next few days with Windows. This way I can keep sharp with Windows XP, a very important thing to do when you are in my field, and I can review the OS takes up the majority of desktop market share.

Now, back to Linux reality...

Using Slackware for most of my Linux life has given me the skills to solve most Linux related problems, and a much better understanding of how Linux works then lets say someone with a RedHat background would. Slackware is my hobby, and I love it to death.