Music Theory Question

Posted:
in iPod + iTunes + AppleTV edited January 2014
So this week I have immersed myself a good bit in GarageBand, and have come up with some nice results. My background is that I have no formal musical education whatever, but I do have a very good ear for music and can pick up tunes quickly, etc.

What I have found is that, with GB, it is quite easy for me to experiment and create 2.5 to 4 minute songs with a nice degree of complexity and nuance to them, but I don't fully understand (for example) what I am doing to the sound of my song if I create a new one with settings of

"Time 4/4 , Key C"

vs

"Time 6/8, Key C"

or

"Time 4/4, Key C#"

I presume the pound sign refers to "C Flat" (Or "C Minor"?), but even there I'm a little unclear as to the difference between any particular key and its flat / minor variant. For starters, which letter of the "key spectrum" [represents the high tones, and which represents the lowest]? And secondarily, if I import Loop 1 into a document that I have set with a high key... and then into another document that I have set with a low key, will the loop sound different?

I do understand tempo (thankfully) but I wanted to get these things cleared up because I'm not really sure if the local settings in any given document (relative to the saved settings of a Loop) override one way or another.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 56
    eugeneeugene Posts: 8,254member
    # = sharp
  • Reply 2 of 56
    wrong robotwrong robot Posts: 3,907member
    C# Major has 7 sharps

C#-D#-E#-F#-G#-A#-B#

So, it's basically the same as C natural, except everything is a raised a half-step.

The opposite of that would be Cb

Which has 7 Flats

Cb-Db-Eb-Fb-Gb-Ab-Bb

So, it's like C natural except you lower every note by a half step.

C minor is very different, C minor would be

C-D-Eb-F-G-Ab-Bb-C

Since you said you know virtually nothing about music theory, I recommend you check out this *very* good introduction to chord/scale theory