Dual 1.8 GHz, no PCI-X, big deal?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Ok, so the new Dual 1.8 GHz doesn't have PCI-X slots. What is the big deal? I am a video editor, what cards am I missing out on? I can't think of any. Are there faster SCSI PCI-X cards? If so should we be moving to Fiber Channel anyway?

It seems to me that the only people bitching about these PCI slots are 3D animators because they want faster graphics cards. Ok, I see your point.

Name three deceives the rest of us will want that take advantage of PCI-X.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    resres Posts: 711member
    There isn't even one thing that most people need PCI-X for -- 95% of the people buying Macs don't use any PCI cards! The low end tower got a 100% increase in power and went from a total joke to a decent entry level dual processor system. And people are whining about it.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    powerdocpowerdoc Posts: 8,123member
    I think it's just the contrary, some people will be happy to have a dual G5 with normal PCI slots, and not PCI X ones.

PCI X cards are not common and horribely expansives.
  • Reply 3 of 12
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,425member
    Well as a Video Editor you'd need PCI-X for the high end HD Decklink cards from Blackmagic.

Anything that pushes gobs of data would be better served by PCI-X.

Therein lies the conundrum. Those that can afford high end cards can afford a Powermac with PCI-X.
  • Reply 4 of 12
    bnoyhtuawbbnoyhtuawb Posts: 456member
    Quote:

Originally posted by hmurchison

Well as a Video Editor you'd need PCI-X for the high end HD Decklink cards from Blackmagic.

Anything that pushes gobs of data would be better served by PCI-X.

Therein lies the conundrum. Those that can afford high end cards can afford a Powermac with PCI-X.

... but if you need that kind of hardware you'll buy a dual 2.5 anyway ... I agree with the original posting, if you are in the 2x1.8-class of people, you'll be just fien with a "cheap" G5!