I'm a newbie. Firewall question to start off.

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Hi!

I'm currently a Windoze user and I'm really thinking about switching to Mac OS X. I've had the pleasure of using OS X on a friend's computer and was simply amazed by its beauty. I love the dock and the aqua stuff.

I'm planning to get a PowerMac around Christmas time (seems a long way off but I need to save some money!) and will probably bombard these boards with many questions between now and then - I hope you won't mind too much!

One item of software that is important is a firewall. Are there any good OS X software firewalls?

Cheers.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    jwri004jwri004 Posts: 626member
    Yes

Though out of the box it has a firewall running. Most of the apps just add a nicer management system.

I personally use NetBarrier. Brickhouse also seems to get a few mentions as well.

• Reply 2 of 5
    majormattmajormatt Posts: 1,077member
    Why do you need a firewall?
  • Reply 3 of 5
    ic1maleic1male Posts: 121member
    I like to keep an eye on all traffic on my system - helps prevent trojans/spyware from doing their thing. But I guess you don't get much of that on Mac.

At the moment I use Outpost which tells me everytime an incoming/outgoing connection is attempted. It's very thorough. I'll have a look at the ones you mentioned. Thanks.

---Update

*jaw drops on floor*

Wow! That Netbarrier software looks absolutely amazing! It seems very thorough and the interface is beautiful. I think that's one definitely on the list to buy.
  • Reply 4 of 5
    bigbluebigblue Posts: 341member
    At this moment there's 0 trojans and 0 spyware on the Mac by my knowledge, and I have never used a viruschecker on my system. Never needed one.

Not that it never will happen, but at this moment: that's the picture.
  • Reply 5 of 5
    jabohnjabohn Posts: 582member