for developers...

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Hi all,

I'm studying computers engineering at university and I'm thinking of buying a PowerBook G4 (probably the 15" one) to help me with my works. I was wondering if you guys that are in this area of work did get any problems due to software not being compatible with mac, or any other kind of problems that made you think "hmmm..maybe I did the wrong choice by choosing a mac"...I'm afraid I'll spend a lot of money and then regret it guys. Come on, I bet you all felt afraid when you first thought of buying your first mac right ? give me some advice, I'm kinda fresh to macs so...I just ask for a piece of advice from you (sorry, my english isn't very good)

PS: this year I'll be working on C/C++ and assembly mostly, what software do you recommend? I used to work in linux in my desktop, should I install it on the laptop? or OSX has all the things I need ?

thanks

peace []

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    If you're going the CS route, a Mac is the *best* choice you could make, hands down. I'm finishing my PhD in CS, and I have never, not once, regretted buying it.

You don't need Linux, MacOS X comes with everything you need: gcc, PHP, Python, Ruby, bash, tcsh, you name it, it's included.

It *is* Unix at the core, after all...

It just happens to be a Unix that you can run MS Office on so you can actually read those documents you get sent from the university administration...
  • Reply 2 of 13
    rara Posts: 623member
    The *one* time I've been forced to use a non-compatible app (I'm a 4th year CS major), they had it running under WINE on their Linux machines, so I was just able to use x-forwarding in ssh through X11 and run it from home. OS X is great for CS.
  • Reply 3 of 13
    ionyzionyz Posts: 491member