Diet - Whats good for you and the kids?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Bye bye Twinkies

I was reading this article and thinking about how certain diet fads have seriously altered the financial states of companies recently. (Basically the low-carb thing)

I know several people around here have very strong opinions about what we should eat. Some have even stronger opinions about what our children should eat. Strangely enough, I encountered an article about a recent custody case involving Vegans and the diet they have fed their child. It led to the state taking their child from them. On the flip side, we also seem to have more restaurants around then ever and some have taken to suing the ones they think do not have good dietary practices. Finally, I work as an elementary school teacher and see the "free" lunches that most districts provide for the children each day. Most of them would make McDonald's look nutritional as they contain large amounts of empty calories and very little nutrition.

So in otherwords, food is a big deal.

What is your view on these matters with regard to yourself and also with government? What do you personally think is the best way to eat with regard to health? Also what role do you think the government should play with regard to diet in our lives and what should be their limits with regard to enforcing or overseeing that role?

This is becoming a new area of interest for me and so I don't claim any expertise. Please post plenty of links about any sources of diet information you think would be helpful.

Nick

Comments

• Reply 1 of 23
    newnew Posts: 3,244member
    I just came from Japan, and I honestly never saw on really fat person, (exept the Sumo wrestlers). I found it kinda funny that even the Coca-cola vending machines sold green tea without sugar.