bulletin board and os x

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I want to setup a bulletin board on my os x machine. It will be for 20-50 people. What are some goood free reccomendations as well as setup guides because I have no prior experience with settin gthem up or anything that is involved with them.

thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    well, you can use the built in apache and then you can configure php and mySQL. I do not know how to do that,

Next you need a software. There are thousands. The three top ones are vBulletin (not free but good), Vision Power (small cost and okay) and finally, my choice, PHPbb (free, powerful and easy to use and install).

if you go with PHPbb head over to phpbbhacks.com for some good additions. I recommend the quick reply.

On another note, have you thought about just buying hosting. I use Lunarpages for all my active sites. They are $7.95 a month upfront for a year with so setup. I moderate (although not since school really) their forums at lunarforums.com (phpbb ran). They offer auto-installs of phpbb and a whole bunch of other great web apps.
  • Reply 2 of 3
    There are some really good tutorials at phpmac.com to show you how to install php on mac. It includes almost every version of php so you should find that a great help. I would second the choice on phpbb. Its free, open-source, and has a great community. There are hundreds of skins to make it fit you, or you can make one. It also has a very easy administration feature. I would highly recommend it.

-MacRules101
  • Reply 3 of 3
    baumanbauman Posts: 1,248member
    Heh, I put everything together today to get phpBB working on my computer. (OS X 10.3.5 Client)

I installed MySQL from the MySQL 4.0 binary installer available on MySQL.com. Installation was easy... but configuration was a pain in the butt. There's an obtuse manual available at MySQL.com, and this section was the most helpful with what I needed to do.