removing Hard Disk

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Hi Newbie here. Non techie...

I want to remove the Hard Disk from my iMac PowerPC G3, speed 500Mhz.

How?

Will that erase everything on the computer or do I need to take other steps?

Any idea how much this could then sell for?

Thanks in advance!!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    The hard drive can be removed/replaced.

This won't erase the hard-drive, but the computer wouldn't have access to any of that info then.

(I replaced my 6gig withan 80 gig a while back in my iMac G3 266)

now ... a brand-new 120GB hard drive can be purchased for less than $100 USD, so the hard drive (used) isn't worth much. The computer is worth about $10 without a hard-drive (about $200-300 intact).

Do a search on here ... the are several threads with links to instructions on getting to your harddrive. It's not difficult, but it does require quite a bit of "disassembly".
  • Reply 2 of 6
    Wo. 10$?!

Then there is no point in doing this. Especially not if it requires a lot of work! Even if it didn't.

I guess since I don't want the hard drive falling into someone elses hands, I either have to hang on to the computer or destroy it physically...but who can do that to an iMac... \

Thanks for answering!
  • Reply 3 of 6
    baumanbauman Posts: 1,248member
    Ah, I understand. You just want to make sure no data is left on the computer before you sell it. All your data is stored on the hard drive - nothing is permanently stored elsewhere. You don't need to physically remove the hard drive to do this; you can simply completely erase everything on the disk.