We need DVD Studio Express

Posted:
in iPod + iTunes + AppleTV edited January 2014
We have no way of making a DVD with 16:9 source video and it is such an oversight for Apple. I am not a professional iMovie is OK for me, but I have a 42" plasma and a Sony digital camcorder that records 16X9 anamorphic.

DVD Studio Pro is overkill just to add 16:9 support. I am quite happy to edit the video in iMovie even though it displays the video in 4:3, the real problem is the burning software. I bought Toast Titanium to find that that too does not support 16:9 material (Exasperation). the only programmes which do are DVD Studio pro and DVDION(bundled with the Formac burner).

On a PC you can buy tons of good software for around £60, which will burn 16:9 source material, I always thought macs were supposed to give better support to creative software than PC's.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 20
    4fx4fx Posts: 258member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Addison

I always thought macs were supposed to give better support to creative software than PC's.

It really depends on what you mean by that statement. There tends to be little in the way of mid-range software for the Mac. In this case, the low end is covered by iDVD and the high by DVD Studio Pro. It does seem that a mid range product could be useful, particularly for you.

Still, if you are serious about DVD, it is well worth your time to learn DVD Studio Pro. Let me warn you though that it is a very manual process of creating a DVD in most cases. If you know what you are doing, this is by FAR better than letting iDVD (for instance) decide all of your settings, but you are right, it is probably overkill for you.

There is SOME hope though. Here is a workaround (look all the way to the end). Its a pain in the arse, but it will at least do what you need it to do.
  • Reply 2 of 20
    I've had good luck using ffmpegX (to encode to 16x9 DVD spec) and Sizzle 0.1/0.52 (to author the DVD with or without menus).

Both are free to try out.