NoName RAM vs. Brand Name

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I was thinking of upgrading the Ram on my Powerbook G4/1.5 gig 17". So I called a local shop that I usually deal with & got a quote on 1 gig of RAM (I have a gig in already & have one slot free). So they tell me a gig is $999 Canadian (about $840 US). Or I can get 512 megs for $249 CDN which is more in my price range right now. They normally sell only Kingston RAM.

I was just on O'Grady's Powerpage & I saw an add for Wegener Media

http://www.wegenermedia.com/fallblowout.htm

They have a gig of Samsung memory for my Powerbook listed for $239.99 US. I have never used anything but Kingston Ram before, so I don't know the difference here, but that is quite a price difference. They also have the following disclaimer there:

Quote:

We stock all RAM shown here, and guarantee all RAM to surpass Apple's standards for RAM cards.

ALL RAM is guaranteed to fit your Powerbook, and comes with a LIFETIME WARRANTY! Our RAM is fully tested for each laptop, and is guaranteed to fit THAT specific laptop!

Please note: RAM prices are very volatile-these prices change constantly, and are good when posted as posted.

What about Firmware?

Recently Apple implemented several firmware updates which caused compatability issues with certain 3rd party RAM. However, we fully guarantee our RAM modules to exceed all Apple requirements for all firmware revisions. Our RAM is fully JDEC MO161D Compliant, and is guaranteed for life.

So what I am asking is, does anybody else have any insight on cheaper ram? Samsung, are they a notable company?

Would I be making a mistake going with the cheaper ram?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    slugheadslughead Posts: 1,169member
    Honestly, it's not hard to get better than Apple's components for cheaper, so long as they're compatible (like hard drives and RAM)..

Samsung is an excellent company, but I don't know what the RAM that Apple normally uses is.