Nintendo DS Preorder Check-in

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 36
    eugeneeugene Posts: 8,254member
    Quote:

Originally posted by tacojohn

I just hate the notion of today's gamers saying better graphics/more powerful system = better games.

YES! Now with PSP I can play the same game types I've been playing for the past 6 years (whenever the PSone came out). How exciting is that?

What about innovative gameplay? Or would you guys rather just play the same games over and over with better graphics?

p.s. The mic is being used in "Feel the Magic: XY XX (or whatever its called)".

I'm going to ignore D3ct from now on because he's simply spreading FUD and trolling, but tacojohn, you are behaving truly ignorant. You seem stuck on the false premise of the PSP being a portable PSOne (which is just a repackaged PlayStation). It is not. It is much closer to and perhaps computationally capable than the PlayStation 2, which still outsells the GameCube and XBox to this day.

Using a stylus or thumb to target enemies in Metroid DS is no more innovative than using a Light Zapper to shoot ducks or make Gumshoe float through the air. The touchscreen provides zero tactile feedback, only visual.
  • Reply 22 of 36
    groveratgroverat Posts: 10,872member
    Ok, so it is a portable way to play games you've been playing for the last 4 years, not the last 6 (psone, so actually ~10).

The movie and music thing is a gimmick that won't take off. It's going to be about the games on the PSP and it might very well deliver and be great. I have no idea.

Sure, the dual-screen w/ one touch screen is a gimmick but so what? It's a useful, optional, built-in gimmick (unlike "Watch Shrek 2 on your little handheld! (Be sure to pack an extra battery or 4!"). You can play all the Gameboy Advance games (this is what sold me on the DS) so you are walking in to launch with a massive library of market-tested games.