Apple demands Mac sites reveal sources.

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
According to Macworld UK and Macuser Think Secret Appleinsider and The PowerPage have been ordered to reveal and documentation which could identify the source of the "Asteroid" rumour, or is it "Confirmed".

It will be interesting to see if any comply with the court order. I know that British National newspapers refuse to reveal sources to courts and have been held in contempt as a result. I have no real knowledge of US court powers, but I would be interested to know what sanctions they have if the sites were to destroy the info. Personally I would be surprised if any had either kept the information or that the information wasm't sent by anonymous means.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 23
    othelloothello Posts: 1,054member
    so it is the 'asteroid' box then...

i might be wrong here, but this product seems very niche for apple to be getting its knickers in a twist
  • Reply 3 of 23
    Even a rumors site is a form of journalism.

As such, a court will not uphold any decision to force a party to reveal sources. This type of case has failed time and again, even when the entity trying to uncover the source is in the right.
  • Reply 4 of 23
    rhumgodrhumgod Posts: 1,289member
    Quote:

Originally posted by 9secondko

Even a rumors site is a form of journalism.

As such, a court will not uphold any decision to force a party to reveal sources. This type of case has failed time and again, even when the entity trying to uncover the source is in the right.

You know what happens to journalists who keep their "integrity" even though a court order says they must reveal their sources, right? Off to jail...
  • Reply 5 of 23
    Quote:

Originally posted by Rhumgod

You know what happens to journalists who keep their "integrity" even though a court order says they must reveal their sources, right? Off to jail...