questions about mac mini

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hi there!

I'm currently a pc user who is thinking of buying a mac mini. For a long time, macs were considerably more expensive, and since I am a student I always bought pcs.

I have a few questions about the mac mini:

Can I also connect a regular PS/2 mouse and Keyboard?

Can I use standard PC components, such as ddr-ram (the ram apple offers is quite expensive) if they fit?

Is the dvi converter able of delivering 85 or 100Hz to a vga monitor?

How much Ram do I need for excessive working (so that the computer won't be swapping all the time)? On PCs, 512MB is minumum for xp for my needs, and 1Gb is recommended. Linux with KDE works for me on 256MB.

thx in advance,

David

Comments

• Reply 1 of 22
    gene cleangene clean Posts: 3,481member
    David, welcome.

Well, you can't use standard PC RAM because simply, you can't install it yourself. But, if you want to install RAM you can send it to an Apple authorized dealer and they will install it for you. The RAM is standard RAM, DDR333 Mhz, if I'm not mistaken.

You need a USB mouse and keyboard to connect your existing mouse and keyboard to the mini. This can be easily solved with a USB hub that you can buy for a very small amount of money. I plan on doing that if I get the mini.

I'm not sure about the DVI, but Apple says it will work with any display LCD or CRT, so unless the graphics card can't handle it, then Mac mini should be able to.

As far as RAM, I'd say 512 minimum. If you add 512 through Apple it will cost you $67 which is, surprisingly enough, cheaper then getting it aftermarket. However, 1 GB of RAM through Apple is very expensive and I would not advise you to pay $425 on 1 GB of RAM. OS X has good memory management so 512 should suffice unless you are planning on running a productivity business.

Good luck with your purchase,
  • Reply 2 of 22
    Hi there!

thx for your quick reply.

Quote: