Help!!....iBook or Powerbook??

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hi everyone,

I'm looking to buy an Apple laptop and I'm trying to keep my costs down as much as possible, but I want something that will handle my needs well. I have never owned a laptop before so any advice, no matter how trivial you think it is, is appreciated.

First I'll mention what I will be doing with it and then I'll mention the setup I already have at home as that is pertinent to my decision.

I am a CGD artist and I create computer desktop wallpapers, as well as images for print. I will be running all the normal programs included with it, as well as Vue 5, Poser 5, Artmatic Pro, Artmatic Voyager, Photoshop CS and Dreamweaver MX.

My desktop setup at home consists of a single 1.6 Ghz G5, 1.5GB Ram, 80 GB HD, OSX 10.2.8 and my 20 inch Cinema display. I am waiting for the G5's to be updated so I can pick up a dual model with 4GB Ram. Hence the main reason I want to keep my laptop purchase as low as possible.

I will be doing a lot of word processing and business planning on both machines for a company I'm starting up and I'll be assembling the website on the laptop part of the time. I may use it down the road to compose music on as well, and that would involve programs such as Reason & Recycle.

My main use will be designing pictures using the programs listed above, but all rendering will be done at home on my G5.

For the first few months I won't have it connected to the internet, but that will change eventually. The main reason for this purchase is because I spend a great deal of time away from home, 12 hours a day during the week (with just week nights to work on the G5) and most weekends are spent with my girlfriend in another city.