Edu Purchase Question

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I understand that, as a student, I'm allowed to purchase ONE PowerBook, iBook, iMac, eMac or PowerMac in an academic year.

In September, I purchased a PowerBook, using my student ID and credit card, for my brother, also a student, because he was not physically able.

I now am about to purchase an iMac for myself. Is it likely that I'll run into trouble? I don't want the sale to go through only to get a call from Apple weeks later telling me they're going to have to charge me full price.

If absolutely necessary, I could get my brother to purchase for me, but that would be a bit of a challenge.

Thanks for any advice.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    Quote:

Originally posted by tismfu

I understand that, as a student, I'm allowed to purchase ONE PowerBook, iBook, iMac, eMac or PowerMac in an academic year.

In September, I purchased a PowerBook, using my student ID and credit card, for my brother, also a student, because he was not physically able.

I now am about to purchase an iMac for myself. Is it likely that I'll run into trouble? I don't want the sale to go through only to get a call from Apple weeks later telling me they're going to have to charge me full price.

If absolutely necessary, I could get my brother to purchase for me, but that would be a bit of a challenge.

Thanks for any advice.

I was in the same situation, I bought an iMac and just ordered a mac mini. The mini shipped so I guess they don't really check up on what you've ordered in the past.

If they do ask, just tell them about your brother and I'm sure they'll understand.

Peace

-taco
  • Reply 2 of 9
    a_greera_greer Posts: 4,594member
    I would say that the first thing I would do is go to an apple store if you can,(if not call 1800myapple) talk to someone face to face,, Tell them your situation, If they approve it, and a few months later, the bean counters get mad, it is their problem, not yours.
  • Reply 3 of 9