Pages Question

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
In work, typing *word* will make 'word' bold, and typing _word_ will make 'word' italics. But in Pages, taht doesn't seem to be the case. Is there some way I can create this option? Also, is tehre an autocorrect feature in Pages like there is in Word? I use it to make things like b/c become because and w/ become with. Is tehre a way to do this in pages? I am a student and type a lot of reports and Chapter Study Guides, and I use these features all the time. I was hoping to move away from Word and use Pages instead, but these things are kind of holding me back.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 16
    Autocorrect is the absolute worst feature in Office. Rather than rely on Word to correct your work, invest the effort into making it correct the first time.

And no, Pages does not have Autocorrect.
  • Reply 2 of 16
    Quote:

Originally posted by hyperb0le

Autocorrect is the absolute worst feature in Office. Rather than rely on Word to correct your work, invest the effort into making it correct the first time.

I find it to be the best feature. When typing, I generally make mistakes that AutoCorrect easily fixes. I know how to spell the words, just when I type I accidently hit the wrong letter. Thats like saying instead of using Spell Check, you should get a dictionary out if you won't know how to spell the words. Its one of the best things about typing things instead of hand writing. You may say taht making it to b/c become because is lazy, and it is, but it makes typing a 5-page report that much faster.

AutoCorrect is usually right, sometimes not, but overall it is a feature that I love about Word. But to every man his own.
  • Reply 3 of 16