Mac Mini Good For Developers??

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Would the Mac Mini be a decent system for a developer? I'm a C++ Windows programmer looking for something different in terms of OS. I wanted to do Linux, but the stupid OSS stuff and the GPL license do not embrace the utter simplicity of distributing binary executables (my preferred method of distrubtion).

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    Heck yes.

FWIW, I'm a CS researcher at UNC with several years of industry experience (military flight simulators, sonar simulations, etc), and OS X is hands down my preferred dev platform. I can crank out GUI apps in no time at all that have an amazing amount of power and polish, and also drop to the command line to work in raw code anytime I like. Best of breed in both worlds in my opinion.
  • Reply 2 of 11
    Quote:

Originally posted by jsimmons

I wanted to do Linux, but the stupid OSS stuff and the GPL license do not embrace the utter simplicity of distributing binary executables (my preferred method of distrubtion).

I don't know if this is deliberate FUD or if you are just mis-informed, but I'll assume the later.

There is nothing in the GPL license for Linux or GCC that prevents you from writing software on Linux and distributing it as binary only. You can sell it, charge a million dollars for it, etc.

If you are the author of your software, you can do whatever you want with it, including sell it. Just as Apple can use the GNU Compiler (using the same license (the GPL as on Linux) to create Mac OS X, you can write software using Linux that is not Open Source.