I'm In Deep **** Thanks Iphoto 5

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I am a trustworthy mac user , had a powerbook g4 for over a year now really liked until tonight, when it just nackerd me truely. Im a graphic design student and i use a lot of photos, i got the new iphoto5 quite liked it too then it DECIDED to DELETE my photos, im at a loss please someone help me I need them back where are they they must be hidden or something. ive got too many photos to lose

Please HELP MEEEEEEEEE

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    You did check your "Pictures" Folder in Finder, didn't you? If the photos vanish in iPhoto they might very well still be on your hard drive...
  • Reply 2 of 12
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    That's #1. #2 is to get them off your backup.

#3 is to try a data recovery tool or service if they're actually gone.

A good general rule is: never upgrade an app that can screw with your data without backing up that data first. \
  • Reply 3 of 12
    i did check the actual folders they are gone, and I didnt think to back them up when i put the new version of Iphoto5 i thought it wouldnt delete my photos did I, I mean it doesnt say on the front of the box please back up all your saved photos just in case you new software decides with its AI to erase them.

THere must be some course of action I can take, whats the data recovery thing is it like windows where you can go back to a previous date???
  • Reply 4 of 12
    No, you need to stop using the computer like, now, and then run a tool on it to recover deleted files. The virtual memory of MacOS X can overwrite the previously used space in a heartbeat. DiskWarrior is an app that can help, others may have other suggestions.