Long-time Apple reseller closes its doors

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 38
    I am not an Apple employee, but I am an independent mac consultant. I have lived in SF since 1993 and used Macs one year longer than that. And I totally agree with the Silencio and Warfang. That place was the worst. I would send people to even a nightmare like Fry's WAAAAAAAAAAY before I ever thought of sending them to such incompetance, arrogance and occasional sheer ignorance as was displayed nearly every time I went to MacAdam. The prices were high, the displays were a model of how not to show product and it was dark and dinge. So layoff, you out of towners. I wouldn't come up to NY and tell you you didn't know what you were talking about if you said you had such a lame store like that place was! ;0)
  • Reply 22 of 38
    ptrashptrash Posts: 296member
    Speaking of Tekserve and J & R, night and day experiences. Tekserve employees are Apple enthusiasts, J & R and salepeople who happen to be selling Macs. I was in J & R tody with a friend who I was trying to ge to buy a Mac. The salesman was useless, and worse, although he couldn't answer our question, wasn't willing (or worse, unable) to surf the web for an answer. I couldn' get over to the Apple store fast enough, where at least you can surf for the net (J & R and other retailers like Best Buy lock you out of competitors websites, i.e any website other than their own). There was a time when J & R had a decent Apple dept--never great, but at least respectable. OTOH at least they're still selling Macs; AFAIK they're the only financial district Apple retail presence.

I remember a time when they're were numerous Apple retailers in Flatiron and vicinity; Apple sales policies and the Macs lack of competitiveness in the early 90s killed them all one by one.
  • Reply 23 of 38
    sunilramansunilraman Posts: 8,133member
    Quote:

Originally posted by onetrickposter