Moving to Portland

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Im thinking about moving to Portland ( getting a touch of island fever ), and was looking for advice about suburbs to live in, the tech industry, current state of jobs etc etc.

Are there any good local sources for tech jobs ( Hawaii has a tech jobs website, which is how I got my current job )?

Im a web developer ( Java, Coldfusion, ASP, .Net ), whats the pay like?

I want to live in a family friendly suburb ( house, yard, shops etc ), and Id like to avoid a huge commute to work.

Whats the state of broadband? Who is the best provider, do they have limited coverage?

How about public transport, Ive heard its good, what suburbs get the best service?

Are the downtown/inner suburbs good?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 17
    scottscott Posts: 7,431member
    You're on a pretty good island now.
  • Reply 2 of 17
    mmmpiemmmpie Posts: 628member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Scott

You're on a pretty good island now.

We could argue the pros and cons of living in Hawaii for a long time, but Im sitting firmly in the cons. Biggest one: cost of living.
  • Reply 3 of 17
    so be it. . . but why portland? There are better places to be, as far as I can tell. The other thing is that, generally speaking, cool places have high costs of living. That's just a fact of a market economy.
  • Reply 4 of 17
    Quote:

Originally posted by Splinemodel

so be it. . . but why portland? There are better places to be, as far as I can tell. The other thing is that, generally speaking, cool places have high costs of living. That's just a fact of a market economy.

Portland is the result of a systematic reduction of places neither my wife nor I want to live, for various reasons. Portland is the "least worst". Having since discovered things like it being voted best city to live in america ( by some magazine ) I dont feel to bad about it.

Any suggestions for better place are welcome, it needs to be: