What is up with Gmail.

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
GMail just gave me 50 invites in my account. This is just from 1 acount. Are they ready to get out of beta or something?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    Seems like it should have been out of beta a while ago. I wonder if this whole invite-only aura is just a marketing ploy. Who could even possible give out 50 invites at this point?

Whatever, I'm not complaining. Gmail rocks. Just wish it had IMAP support.
  • Reply 2 of 13
    kishankishan Posts: 732member
    Quote:

Originally posted by bborofka

Seems like it should have been out of beta a while ago. I wonder if this whole invite-only aura is just a marketing ploy.

Agreed... what in the hell are they still testing over there at gmail? I've been using it for only a few months now, but I have found that I like the clean interface more than hotmail's and the free storage space is really cool. Maybe they are working on a premium type pay service or something? to be released whenever gmail gets out of beta?
  • Reply 3 of 13
    zozo Posts: 3,117member
    i think its a god idea to have it invite only. potentially keeps out no-good people and signing up for dozens of temp accounts, etc etc...

I have probs with logging in to Gmail through web (safari). It does really weird things, sometimes goes into a loop. *sigh*
  • Reply 4 of 13
    gene cleangene clean Posts: 3,481member
    its still in Beta because they need to get ready for the huge demand - their servers need to be ready and stable, the software needs to work good, etc.

plus they're adding new features all the time, so they keep it in Beta until they are done with their feature-goal so they can release a full-featured Gmail instead of a basic one whilst adding features later on.

good practice, I say.
  • Reply 5 of 13
    johnqjohnq Posts: 2,763member
    Tired of the "loading" tennis match...

Loading in red box on left. (usually stays on this until I refresh).