New Powermacs to use Cell Processor?

Comments

• Reply 61 of 220
    onlookeronlooker Posts: 5,252member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Aphelion

I'm no networking expert but a little Googling around will show that IBM has been building on-chip hardware acceleration for the protocols that send data out the NIC's thus speeding up the broadband connection.

If you are on dial-up you don't get to play, it's just out of your league.

That's the point. You can't just hand someone broadband on a chip.
  • Reply 62 of 220
    Quote:

Originally posted by onlooker

That's the point. You can't just hand someone broadband on a chip.

No, the point is you can speed up broadband on the chip.
  • Reply 63 of 220
    This is actually a series of questions for Programmer or someone of his ilk, largely because I'm a doofus who doesn't really "get" some of this stuff?

Am I right in thinking that, having read a small amount of the Cell material from today, I can't help but hear coffin nails being banged into SGI?

Could Cell be deployed as an "outboard" technology tied to either an Xserve or Power Macintosh "controller" handing out simulation/visualisation tasks? If so. what kind of Cell unit to Macintosh controller ratio could one expect? 8 to 1, 16 to 1, more? (!!!)

If the answer to these questions are largely affirmative, would it be reasonable to see Macintosh/Cell implementations being used in areas like?
    • geophysical modelling

• signal processing

• scientific simulation

• HD image render farm

Could we reasonably expect to see a 64 dual-processor Xserve's feeding large data sets to (for example) 1024 Cells using Xsan as a SAN filesystem? And if we did, what sort of performance could we expect?
  • Reply 64 of 220
    murkmurk Posts: 935member
    Looks like Cell will have to wait for 65 nanometers.

From MacCentral...

Quote: