Tiger games, Core Image, Video - a revolution?

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Something just dawned on me...WHAT WILL THIS DO FOR GAMES???

Will we see new game companies spring up that only develop for the Mac, because they can do revolutionary things with core image and core video that will never run in Windows?

I'm a musician myself, so I know what core audio has done for music software. Try finding Amplitube Live for the PC! It's a piece of software that enables your mac to mimic different guitar amplifiers in realtime so you can play with this LIVE.

I. K. Multimedia havn't done this "LIVE" version of Amplitube for windows because....well....they just can't.

So will 2005 be the yeah when all Mac gamers will get the drooling envy of every PC user, because we got games that do AMAZING things on the screen ....????

I know....we're gonna loose sleep over this one right ? ))))

come kitty kitty kitty...come to daddy.......grrrrrr ROAR!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 26
    Except music software are not designed for being sold to millions and millions of users, and historically, most musicians have always been Mac-fanatics (in the "Special Thanks" part of Version 2.0, Garbage put the 9500/200 they used to work with at the studio, Radiohead have always used Logic on Mac and love it, and they perform live with an iBook on stage to provide live effects, etc...).

The game industry is not the same : building a game (not talking about Tetris but more about Warcraft 3 or Final Fantasy 11) costs a LOT, so Mac-only games won't ever do it, except for the little Tetris-likes, or except if Apple miraculously acquires 50% marketshare.

That's a shame, because games coded using Core Image and Video would be thrilling, but that's the bottom of living in a capitalist world!
  • Reply 2 of 26
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    Two things govern economics, regardless of market type: market size, cost to market.