Apple to layoff 60 in restructuring effort

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 26
    sunilramansunilraman Posts: 8,133member
    Quote:

Originally posted by wnurse

Actually, it is true. Stock gains and dividends are taxed at a lower rate than regular income. That's why repulicans love to talk about reducing the capital gains tax. 99% of the population have no clue what they are talking about and the 1% who do love it. Of course, it's always framed as "stimulating investment and spurring the economy".. who would vote against stimulating investment and spurring the economy?.

Stevie did not become a billionaire by being stupid. One of my maxims is to look at what rich people do and try to emulate them (even if you don't know why they doing it). Steve prefers to be paid in stock, then i do too!!.. even if i'm not a tax expert, i know he's not trying to pay more taxes and believe me, he aint in the business of doing favors for apple. If getting paid was cheaper, stevie would get paid. He's not in the charity business.

DON'T forget though that getting paid in stock is one way to keep shareholders happy, because that means your remuneration is directly tied to performance of the stock, so to speak.

For the already-rich, this may not be a big deal but it keeps the common-man shareholder happy somehow, i think. For example, if StevieJ totally f8cked up and Apple stock went to $0 by the end of this year, then Steve's stock which he hasn't sold would be also worth $0

am i right?

• Reply 22 of 26
    e1618978e1618978 Posts: 6,075member
    Quote:

Actually, it is true. Stock gains and dividends are taxed at a lower rate than regular income

No, its not true. I know about the difference between capital gains and dividend rates, but that does not apply here.

When you redeem a company stock option, the difference between your strike price and the current stock price is added to your W2 as income. Company stock options are not taxed like stocks, they are taxed like income.