ibook prices

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I want to swich to apple and want a notebook. I will be using my notebook for studioMX which I will buy once I get a apple. I would like to spend around $500 but I see the new ibook G4 is around a $1000. I'm no mac expert but just want to think different so all you mac experts help me find the best machine for my money for what I want

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    well if you only have 500 bucks you're only choice for a new machine is the mac mini, but only having 256MB ram is a bit weak. honestly, $1000 for a nice laptop isnt that bad. i'm not saying its chump change b/c i dont have that much money either, but buying a computer is something i expect to save and pay for with more than just a couple paychecks.
  • Reply 2 of 11
    r00dr00d Posts: 14member
    well it does not have to be new. I see some G3 laptops on ebay for around 500 but the ram would need upgradeing not sure how G3's are now for todays standards. If theres a site that has G4's cheap then 999 then please post but Ive had no luck finding any
  • Reply 3 of 11
    no more input ?
  • Reply 4 of 11
    mcqmcq Posts: 1,543member
    Cheapest new G4 iBook that I'm aware of:

Last generation 1 GHz G4 iBook model, $799:

http://microcenter.com/single_produc...uct_id=0173858

No clue on how much the G3 models are going for, though I'd suggest seeing if you can up your range closer to a new/used G4 model.
  • Reply 5 of 11
    yeah I just found that site also and that is the cheapest price yet. G3s ive been been around 500 but buy the time you upgrade it you can buy a G4 almost so im better off saving up for that $800 one. Anyone ever bought anything off this site before http://microcenter.com ?
  • Reply 6 of 11
    After rebate, Amazon has the current iBook for $899! If you qualify for their card, you can get another $30 off.