newbie here.. help ..I just converted

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Well im not in the matrix anymore... someone please advise on how to maximize the browser window. Please before I throw this sh!t in the trash

Comments

• Reply 1 of 16
    gene cleangene clean Posts: 3,481member
    Well, first of, start by drinking a cold cup of water.

Now, click on the Green button. You'll notice that it does not maximize like you would expect it in Windows. If you want it to cover the entire screen - minus The Dock - you can resize the window and then it will remember the window size so the next time you click the green button - it will maximize to the size of your choice.

Good luck with your purchase.
  • Reply 2 of 16
    karl kuehnkarl kuehn Posts: 756member
    Just to go a bit further: proper Macintosh applications don't hog the entire screen, it is considered bad form. This is just a difference of opinion between the Macintosh and Windows ways of thinking. After a little while you will get used to it. Personally I use both platforms, and prefer the macintosh way of thinking... but it is all personal opinion.

The closest thing that MacOS X (and MacOS 9) has is the little green button on the top of most windows, this is the "best fit" button and tries to make the window fit the size of the contents. Sometimes this makes the window bigger, sometimes smaller, and it is up to the program to figure out what is best. The idea is that there should not be scroll bars or extra space if at all possible.

Just spend some time getting to know the OS as it is, rather than try to make it fit your preconceptions.
  • Reply 3 of 16
    nyguynyguy Posts: 19member
    things are looking up. I figured a few things out. My notebook is a looker. Is it possible to transfer info from my PC to the G4? Im thinking not since they use different platforms
  • Reply 4 of 16
    omegaomega Posts: 427member