next airport express with video-out?

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 26
    Don't post here please. Have you ever done wireless video? I work in a lab where we play with this kind of stuff all day.

Something simple you can do at home, that works fine on MY powerbook. Rip DVD to computer #1. Use your powerbook to connect to it's drive share. Use VLC to play the video_ts folder on your ONLY wifi connected laptop. (Yes it's streaming from the computer upstairs, through apple's poorly done file sharing protocal. And that plays just fine. Hmm maybe I'll play back some compressed HD?....

;-)

Quote:

Originally posted by ipodandimac

forst of all, wireless video over something like airport express would be AWFUL. and no, i dont want to surf the iVideo store and pay $1 to watch it. neither does 100% of the film industry.

• Reply 22 of 26
    Quote:

Originally posted by webmail

Don't post here please. Have you ever done wireless video? I work in a lab where we play with this kind of stuff all day.

Something simple you can do at home, that works fine on MY powerbook. Rip DVD to computer #1. Use your powerbook to connect to it's drive share. Use VLC to play the video_ts folder on your ONLY wifi connected laptop. (Yes it's streaming from the computer upstairs, through apple's poorly done file sharing protocal. And that plays just fine. Hmm maybe I'll play back some compressed HD?....

;-)

well your deal sounds fantastic but it completely ignores copyright protection. if apple released such a device, it would have to encrypt and decrypt on the fly to make the industry happy, as well as just sending the video.
  • Reply 23 of 26
    zozo Posts: 3,117member
    I have access to latest builds of QT7 through my work and along with my engineers am under NDA. But let me tell you this: H.264 is AMAZING. a 30kb/s encoded file from raw source (320x240 origin) played REALLY well at full screen on 1600x1028. Its amazing what this codec can do at such small data rates.