Panic: We are hanging here?

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Hello, I am new to the world of apple/OSX, I recently purchased a used as/is ibook and this is the screen I am getting upon boot:

(linked due to size)

http://ryzor.com/up/files/ibookscreen.jpg

Any help as I continue to search this forum for answers?

Thanks!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    hirohiro Posts: 2,663member
    Old fashioned kernel panic. Some system files on the HD are corrupt or missing, the first line of the panic gives that clue. The hardware can't find the appropriate boot file on the HD.

I am going to guess the old owner tried to slick off some personal info and hosed the install? You are going to have to reload the OS from scratch and hopefully they did not hose anything else on the drive. Gonna need either system CD's or the Software Restore CDs that originally came with the iBook for that.

First step would be just try to reinstall the OS from those CDs. Try the Archive and Install option to get things running again. If that doesn't work other options become either more perilous to the data on the drive or potentially costly if you care about the data.
  • Reply 2 of 10
    Not worried about the data, now its just the matter of getting ahold of a cd..
  • Reply 3 of 10
    lundylundy Posts: 4,466member
    Quote:

Originally posted by neosen

Where are you located? In US?
  • Reply 4 of 10
    Quote:

Originally posted by lundy

Where are you located? In US?

orlando florida
  • Reply 5 of 10
    lundylundy Posts: 4,466member
    Quote:

orlando florida

Check your PMs.

--Johnny
  • Reply 6 of 10
    Quote:

The previous owner didn't give you the system CDs?
  • Reply 7 of 10
    neosenneosen Posts: 8member
    Quote:

Originally posted by ThinkingDifferent

The previous owner didn't give you the system CDs?

Nope, I got a copy of the cds though, kept trying to install but at around 73% each time the hd would start making an awful noise...