Final word on Powerbook's

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Alright, here is the deal.

I would like anyone's opinion on whether or not I should go ahead and buy a 15" Powerbook (Combo drive) on Monday.

The problem I am having is whether or not I am getting the bang for my buck. In another thread, everyone is saying that the PB has become a sub-par notebook and in some regards, I wholly agree. But is holding out going to produce a better step forward? (ie- faster subsystem, dual G4's, G5, faster RAM, faster HD, better vid. card, etc.)

Now, I am in no rush to get a computer especially with this semester winding down, but I would still like to have one. Are we going to see them at WWDC? MWParis?

The talk of funk'd up track pads and then incredibly subpar tech has made me question one last time.

So what would you guys do in my situation? Keep in mind that I am a starving student and would cry if I only held out a bit longer to get a better computer for the same or less money and also that I am not in a huge rush to be getting it.

Thanks everyone.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    I have a new 15" powerbook, trackpad is fine. If you buy one and it doesn't work, then it goes back to Apple and they fix it. I also bought a 15" PB about 1.5 years ago, that my wife now uses. It has been a work horse, but did go back for white spots twice. I'm happy with both purchases, despite the spot issue, which was fixe with minor inconvience. Let's face it, if and when the G5 PB comes, revision 1 may also have its share of issues.

My general rule is buy when you need it and no sooner. It sounds to me that you really don't need to buy, so why not wait. However, if a new PB is going to help you get through the semester better, then I think the current model is just fine.
  • Reply 2 of 12