How do you turn around a business?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
This topic has been discussed before, but I'd like to discuss it in further detail. A previous poster (designer) asked how to start a small business. I am a former designer as well. However my goal to is not a design business, but a toy store. Yeah really!

In this new economy, many businesses can start up as a home business. However, this is not the case for me. Retail is an old industry. I need a store front. With it comes a huge over-head that home businesses don't have.

So how do you turn around a start up business? I've asked this question many times. Even a professional business consultant couldn't give me a satisfactory answer. "Research" was his answer. You're a start up. Time and money is not on your side. You're in a finanial black hole already. So how is it done?

My business will sell high end collectibles. Most collectors buy more than one and are repeat business. I'll leave the cheap stuff/mass market stuff to Walmart. My customer base are 18 to 45. Educated with money to spend. Not moms and their kids.

I'm located in Toronto, Canada. Town of 3 million. Very cosmopolitan/multicultural. There are a few local competitors. Even a designer toy store. Some are web only or side businesses with no "showcase" storefront.

I'm modelling my business after this store. There will not be a webstore. The product has to been seen and touched.

XL-Shop

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    Oops it won't link. Just key it in and go to "about us" section

<I fixed the link - audiopollution>
  • Reply 2 of 11
    sunilramansunilraman Posts: 8,133member
    first, you have to answer a few questions ;-)

1. how much money do you have to invest?

2. how much money do you hope to have to invest?

3. what is your time horizon on breaking even and turning profitable?

4. what is your exit strategy should your business not succeed?

5. what is your market research strategy?