Upgrading to 10.4: advice, scenarios, plans

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Since we're all going to be in this boat sometime in the near future, and since we are a diverse and varied group of folks, I thought it would be good for members to post their situation, upgrade plan, and advice.

Please, no bashing on someone else for being 'impetuous', 'scared', or anything else, just share your plan and why.

I'm a doctoral student in CS finishing up my degree this summer, so I am touching *nothing* on my laptop until I finish... this means you all get to play with Tiger long before I do, ya bastiches.

I'll give you a rundown of my normal plan however, to get the ball rolling:

1) The server.

I have an aging 350MHz B/W G3 running 10.3 Server for the home domain and mail services. The boot drive contains three partitions, one for 10.3 Server, one for 10.2 Server, and one for 9.2. I cycle the MacOS X partitions, so on the next iteration the 10.2 section will get formatted, and a fresh install of 10.4 will go onto it. I make a text file listing all the files installed (Terminal tools are your friend) to create an exclude list for backup purposes later, and then start a painstaking process of moving my config files over by hand, with meticulous testing of each service. Last, I configure /Users to point to the data drive. Duplicate backups of the current boot partition and full data drive are of course made prior to this, and then detached from the machine.

I've considered wiping the 10.2 partition, using Carbon Copy Cloner to copy the 10.3 over to it, and then installing 10.4 over the top of that, to save myself some steps. Anyone care to comment on that?

2) The laptop.