Updated Apple Power Mac G5 systems en route to company stores

Comments

• Reply 61 of 185
    i still have some hope that these rumours are not true. and if they are true, imagine what would happen if we found out these were overclocked G5 chips?
  • Reply 62 of 185
    telomartelomar Posts: 1,804member
    Quote:

Originally posted by melgross

Right now I'd rather see Express than a single dual core chip.

It's going to get harder to get boards for PCI X over the next year or so because of that. S-ATA 2 is also out now,

I don't know what Apple is waiting for. They can go to Express with a 2.7 chip. That WOULD be a big upgrade.

I rather think they are waiting for cards in their key markets. I have no knowledge of hollywood and audio PCI cards but how many have actually switched over to PCI-e?

I have no doubt they're watching the market and if they haven't upgraded I expect they have a pretty decent reason beyond being cheap. PCI-e does actually simplify board design and give them more freedom.
  • Reply 63 of 185
    messiahmessiah Posts: 1,689member
    Quote:

Originally posted by onlooker

I believe you'll get a Pioneer DVR-A09 16x, dual layer DVD burner. Which is not current BTW.

Actually it is current. This is exactly the point I've been making in the other threads!

The Rev. B machines have been shipping with the 109 mech for some time now, but Apple have crippled it via firmware.

This is good news in a sense, because it means that the 109 will finally be fully supported by the OS and anybody savvy enough will be able to reflash their drive and enjoy all the features... I'm looking forward to being able to burn a DVD in under four minutes!

• Reply 64 of 185
    buccibucci Posts: 100member
    Quote:

Originally posted by onlooker

Sorry hm. Tiger is what you want. I need the kind of performance, and upgradeability that Tiger, and a dual 2.7GHz Macintosh can't offer. Not from what the reports say anyway.