Design Your Quasi-Futuristic Mac-Centric HES Here

dcqdcq
Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
Caveat Lector: I'm a newbie to all this high-tech home entertainment junk. My wife and I have been relatively poor, struggling students since we met, and have made due with basic cable and an aging, second-hand 32-inch TV. But we're finally both free to indulge our geekist tendencies (within financial reason). That said...

I'm getting excited about the long-awaited digital convergence in Home Entertainment Systems. I really think it's going to happen in the next year or two. So now's the time to start designing. I'm gunning for something clustering around the mini.

Bear in mind, I have very little idea how all this stuff works. (Part of the point of this thread is to start learning.) My idea is that this will be feasible by next spring. (Please correct me if my crack is too strong.)

Start with a mini powered by a 2.0 GHz 970GX

SuperDrive on iSteroids (HD-DVD/BVD/DL DVD-R/RW/CD-R/RW)

onboard ATI 9800-ish video card w/128MB VRAM

160 GB 7200 HDD (Apple realizes the error of its ways)

external 500GB HDD slice connected via FW800

23- or perhaps even a 30-inch Cinema Display (HDMI?, whatever-the-frick-that-is). Would the 23-inch provide a bigger widescreen than our current 32-inch standard TV? I'm sure the 30 would...

eyeTV 500 or equivalent HD PVR solution

5.1 speakers (brands? wtf is 7.1? and can a mini handle this out of the box?)

Airport Express linked to speakers out on the patio (really, why not since we've got to have a wireless network anyway?).

iSight 2, with an iChat AV that can make phone calls and handle *all* types of chat

Some kind of voice recognition software that actually works well for both navigating the Finder and composing in basic programs (Mail, Entourage, Word, text boxes in Safari, etc.).