12" Powerbook advice

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I'm looking into getting a new PowerBook. My old PowerBook ( 15" 667 DVI ) is 3 years old already and the AppleCare is going to expire on it coming up in mid-july. I'm looking into getting a 12" PowerBook because I would like the smaler size. With student discounts, I can get the high-end 12" down to $1500. There is also a $100 rebate if I buy before June 25 or 26. An equally equipped 15" PowerBook would be around $2000. So here is the way I see things (the 15" vs the 12"):
  • 15" screen @ 1280x854 vs. 12" @ 1024x768

• 2GB of RAM maximum vs 1.25 GB of RAM maximum

• S-Video out vs no S-Video out.

• a PCMCIA slot vs no PCMCIA slot

• Tiger screen rotation supported vs. not supported

• 10/100/1000 Ethernet vs 10/100 Ethernet

• 15" has Firewire 800 but the 12" doesn't

My Needs:

I'm a Computer Science student (graduating in August). I've been very happy with my current PowerBook thus far. I plan on using this new PowerBook even more as a main computer than I do now. I just need something that will do what I will be using it for. I really only use my PowerBook for the following things:
  • Programming

• MS Office to do reports and such

• Web Browsing

• Run Apache/PHP/MySQL to test out PHP/MySQL scripts

• Email

• Network stuff (ssh into my server and such)

• Fooling around with iPhoto/Photoshop/GIMP with my photos (have a 5MP digital camera)

• Wardriving (I want to get into this a little)

• Chatting (IRC/AIM/etc)

• Burning DVDs ( have automated backups and such, right now I just use my desktop to burn the DVDs )

• Read manga scanslations (this could be the only thing that would get really annoying on the smaller screen)

• Scanning (I might get a scanner and use this to backup old documents)

My Take:

15" screen @ 1280x854 vs. 12" @ 1024x768