Was Core Image developed for the Switch?

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
OK, I'm not a programmer and this is all above my head, so forgive me if this sounds stupid

All the new stuff in Tiger like Core Image (and maybe core data?) where the OS is doing more stuff for you so you don't have to program it at processor level... can we now say that this was purely to make the Intel transition easier?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    powerdocpowerdoc Posts: 8,123member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Mr Skills

OK, I'm not a programmer and this is all above my head, so forgive me if this sounds stupid

All the new stuff in Tiger like Core Image (and maybe core data?) where the OS is doing more stuff for you so you don't have to program it at processor level... can we now say that this was purely to make the Intel transition easier?

Sure it is, SJ claimed that for the last 5 years, mac os X was developped for both Intel and PPC chips. That's mean that Core image who is a part of mac os X will work on intel based mac computers.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    Don't forget Apple's recent push for 'little' things like autovectorization into the gcc codebase. AltiVec? MMX? Who cares? Let the compiler handle it!
  • Reply 3 of 8
    mr skillsmr skills Posts: 144member
    That's not quite what I meant. Of course it will work, along with everything else. What I am asking is whether the whole purpose of Core Image (or a substantial part of it) was to ease the transition to Intel by making applications hit the processor less.
  • Reply 4 of 8
    mcqmcq Posts: 1,543member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Mr Skills

That's not quite what I meant. Of course it will work, along with everything else. What I am asking is whether the whole purpose of Core Image (or a substantial part of it) was to ease the transition to Intel by making applications hit the processor less.