Apple spreadsheet application in the works?

Comments

• Reply 61 of 87
    gene cleangene clean Posts: 3,481member
    Quote:

Originally posted by humanfellow

I actually bought iWorks when it came out. I don't use it. I even regret buying it. I'm a student and no matter how I like it my school expects assignments in Microsoft Word format. I usually e-mail them in.

You know that Microsoft Office format is .doc right? You know you can save your Pages documents as .doc right?

Research. Before. You. Say. It. Doesn't. Do. What. I. Need. It. To. Do.
  • Reply 62 of 87
    jlljll Posts: 2,713member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Reid

Exactly... look what happened to Internet Explorer on the Mac once Apple came out with Safari. Microsoft announced tha all future development of Mac IE would cease. Clearly shows that Microsoft is willing to abandon Mac development if Apple gets directly in their way.

MS annonced that they ceased development on IE on both Mac and Windows.

IE was/is supposed to be tightly integrated with Longhorn, and only recently have they decided to make an update for WinXP SP2.

Furthermore, MS didn't make any major updates to IE5 for Mac since it was released in 2001.

It's more likely that Apple decided to make a browser because of MS' non existant development of IE than MS dropped IE because of Safari.
  • Reply 63 of 87
    jlljll Posts: 2,713member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Nak

Can it do PDF too?

Every Mac app that can print can do PDFs - great, ain't it?
  • Reply 64 of 87
    Quote:

Originally posted by Russell Greenwood

So was there any spreadsheety or word processor type applications back in the day that are seemingly familiar when it comes to Pages or what will become the new Numbers?

Well, there was Mesa from Athena Design, then bought by P&L Systems Ltd.

NeXTStep Mesa 2

Mac OS X Mesa 3

See this screenshot in particular. Very iWork in style.
  • Reply 65 of 87
    matsumatsu Posts: 6,558member