Terminal Question...

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
hello, i'm somewhat new to UNIX and although i know a decent amount, i still have alot to learn. What i wan't to do is be able to run NEDIT from the terminal however it needs X11 running for it to work. So far i have it set up so that as long as X11 is already running, i can just type 'nedit' into the terminal and it will launch. Now i'm trying to set up my ~/.bash_profile so it will launch X11 when i start the terminal. How do i do this? i dont even know how to launch an application from the terminal. the whole ./program thing didnt seem to work. i also noticed, that the X11.app opens like a folder in the terminal which was wierd. can anybody please help me out here? thx

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    Can't tell you how to open X11 for nedit (which I think is a great editor), but to open an OSX app, you type 'open Application.app'. Since .apps are bundles, you can't just use ./Application. You could cd through the bundle and find the actual executable and then it would work, or just use the open command.
  • Reply 2 of 7
    awsome it works. thx man I just used the open command inside the profile and it work as though it were called from the terminal itself
  • Reply 3 of 7
    okay, new question, sorta... is there a way to start X11 w/out it popping up its terminal and stuff? like, start it up hidden? I need the service running, but dont want all that stuff popping up. thx for your help
  • Reply 4 of 7
    pbpb Posts: 4,255member
    Quote:

Originally posted by CNUco2007

...is there a way to start X11 w/out it popping up its terminal and stuff? like, start it up hidden? I need the service running, but dont want all that stuff popping up. thx for your help

You need to write you own .xinitrc file then, where you will only start the window manager. For example, a .xinitrc file in your home directory with this alone line of text as content

Code:

twm