PA: Apple laptops

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hi guys, I need a bit of purchasing advice!

I'm a graphic designer and I need to get a laptop to present visuals during client meetings and pitches.

I should imagine I'll be presenting the usual spread of visuals including websites, bespoke presentations, identities & branding and my portfolio.

I'm afraid I'm not up to speed with Apple's laptop offerings, but I do seem to have picked up the impression that the PowerBooks aren't exactly setting the world on fire at the moment. I'm not sure when the various families were last updated, and I have no clue when the next update might occur.

I'm not going to use the laptop to do any serious work - I'll most likely prepare the various presentations on my G5 before loading them on the laptop - so the various processor and memory specs aren't important to me.

At this point, the 14" iBook is the favourite. I've discounted the two 12"ers, and the 15" PowerBook doesn't appeal to me either. I am tempted by the 17" PowerBook, but it is very expensive and whilst the screen looks fantastic I'm not sure if it is worth the extra cash. I suspect that the 17" PowerBook would turns heads however, and that is never a bad thing when you are pitching to complete strangers!

Any thoughts on the matter?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    fieldorfieldor Posts: 213member
    This will get you up to date with the updates : http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/
  • Reply 2 of 9
    messiahmessiah Posts: 1,689member
    Quote:

Originally posted by fieldor

This will get you up to date with the updates : http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/

Nice one.

That certainly sheds some light on the product cycles!

Thanks for that!

• Reply 3 of 9
    mynameheremynamehere Posts: 560member
    just out of curiosity: why not the 15" pb?...kind of a leap from the 14" iBook to the 17" PB...

And no, none of Apple's laptops are "setting the world on fire" right now...
  • Reply 4 of 9
    Quote: