an application that can create dubs/instrumentals or a cappellas from songs? IS there

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
hey all,

im not sure if what i want is possible, but i figure technology is moving so quickly that it's worth asking;

is there an application or software, that anyone knows of, that can basically seperate the lyrics and the music from a song so that it leaves two seperate files, one a dub (or instrumental, with just the music) and the other an a cappella (or just the lyrics)??

if this is possible, and you know how, then let me know,

thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    rhoqrhoq Posts: 190member
    To keep the answer as short as possible: Technology isn't that good, yet. It is still not possible, though you can adjust EQ settings to lower the vocals enough to barely hear them (though this could also distort the backing music track).

I take it that you are a DJ? I was a DJ in a former life, now I am a producer.
  • Reply 2 of 6
    So how do the karaoke people do it?
  • Reply 3 of 6
    Quote:

Originally posted by Jwink3101

So how do the karaoke people do it?

Karaoke uses CDGs which are specially encoded CDs with a video track for lyric display. The CDGs usually contain an instrumental (with or without backing vocals).

Like "Remix" and "Promo Only" DJ services which offer weekly releases of new music even pre-release, CDG companies offer weekly/monthly releases to keep the Karaoke jockies up-to-date with all of the latest new music.
  • Reply 4 of 6
    spiers69spiers69 Posts: 418member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Rhoq

To keep the answer as short as possible: Technology isn't that good, yet. It is still not possible, though you can adjust EQ settings to lower the vocals enough to barely hear them (though this could also distort the backing music track).

I take it that you are a DJ? I was a DJ in a former life, now I am a producer.