When will OS X use KiB, MiB, GiB??

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Hi,

I was just wondering when/if Apple would update the nomenclature for file sizes through-out the OS? Currently, the Finder (Get Info, List view,etc) reports file sizes as KB, MB, GB, etc. However, this can be confusing to users who assume 1 GB = 10 Billion Byes, instead of 1 GB = 1 073 741 824 Bytes. For example, making this distinction will allow users to understand why when they buy a 60 GB (gigabyte) iPod that iTunes reports it as 55.8 GB (correctly 55.8 GiB - gibibyte). This would help prevent new users from assuming GB (binary) == GB (decimal). The IEC made this change standard back in December 1998, yet neither Windows, Mac, or Linux uses Kib, MiB, or GiB to this day. Why?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 53
    telomartelomar Posts: 1,804member
    Although I'd love to see it happen and think the prefixes are logical and it'd make life easier I am also aware I am an engineer and therefore not chronically idiotic like the vast majority of the world. Seriously most people are stupid and would have trouble telling you what the prefixes kilo and mega mean, despite having definitely learnt it in high school. They are easily confused by even the most basic things.

It's just too hard, people don't want to think about it. They prefer their bubbles where they can complain about everything despite not knowing anything about it. As a result why spend the time fixing it when you're an OS writer.

Meanwhile that was particularly harsh even for me
  • Reply 2 of 53
    hirohiro Posts: 2,663member
    Why? 50 years of inertia.

Why don't all CS faculty use it? 50 years of inertia.

Why doesn't the US use the metric system. It was the law once upon a time. Inertia, so they repealed the law.

It would surprise me greatly if this tide of human inertia could be turned. You need to rewrite every textbook, nearly every web reference and every piece of software ever written that references bytes.