Dreamweaver - Posting jpg's That Can't Be Downloaded

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this but...

I'm fairly new to Dreamweaver. Is there a way to build a page with thumbnail sized (or slightly larger) jpgs where they are imbedded into the page and there is no way for someone to download them?

Are there any gallery templets that allow you to build a gallery with similar properties?

Thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    I think you need to override the right-click on the mouse. Most sites I've seen that want to protect their images make it when you right click, a messagebox shows on the screen instead of the contextual menu.
  • Reply 2 of 9
    All data embedded within a web page is technically 'requested' by the remote machine as discrete elements, and served by the host. It is technically 'downloaded' to the remote machine for on screen rendering of page content (assembling the html instructions to markup text and embed images, perhaps tweaked with css styles or external java, etc.).

In this sense, if you want people to view it, they must be able to 'download' it.

Clever folk who know how to view the activity and cache log should be able to extract the images from their local system, even if you've limited the right-click ability to 're-download and save' content.

Folks who know how to View Source can deduce the serving location of the original files, and potentially poke around the directory structure to get at the originals.

The only real ways to deter this (you can't really prevent it) are to limit the right-click action and to use dynamic hostnames of ridiculous length, reference links (like Apple trailers), 'access forbidden' directories, or leechproofing scripts which refuse requests unless wrapped in the original container page.