Deciding which mac to get....

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Hey guys im new here

I'm a graphic and web designer, working mainly with flash, illustrator and photoshop. I would like to know your opinion on which mac to choose. Im thinking about the iMac 17" 2GHz. Also thinking about bumping it up to 1 gig of ram. i dont need a laptop since ill be working from home. and i definetly cant afford the power mac. though friends are telling me its worth it to save up for that. It doesnt sound like the imac is that bad of a choice. can people who have experience with these programs on a mac tell me your opinion? It would help a great deal. Thanks

kyle

Comments

• Reply 1 of 14
    It sounds like you have about narrowed it down. Considering you are in graphic design, I might opt for the 20" iMac if you find it in the budget, but other than that, it is about your only choice if you cannot afford the PowerMac. The Mac mini would not be up to snuff with the 5400 rpm drive, IMHO.
  • Reply 2 of 14
    aslan^aslan^ Posts: 599member
    Quote:

Originally posted by kwsanders

It sounds like you have about narrowed it down. Considering you are in graphic design, I might opt for the 20" iMac if you find it in the budget, but other than that, it is about your only choice if you cannot afford the PowerMac. The Mac mini would not be up to snuff with the 5400 rpm drive, IMHO.

I disagree...

People have used slower computers than the mini to do great graphic design in the past, what has changed?

Before the G5, people still stood by the G4 and stated that it did everything they neeed it to, including graphic design, movie editing, music production etc...