Alias question OS 9.2

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I'm a guitar teacher. On my G4 I want a database (something like ITunes) with mp3's of the songs I use to teach. And I want to create an alias for each of my 30 students. Each alias should contain the title of the songs in the mp3 database that this particular student is learning. And clicking on that title should start the mp3 to play.

Is this possible?

Thanks for your help

(My G4 runs OS 9.2)

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    Quote:

Originally posted by R.D. Tan

I'm a guitar teacher. On my G4 I want a database (something like ITunes) with mp3's of the songs I use to teach. And I want to create an alias for each of my 30 students. Each alias should contain the title of the songs in the mp3 database that this particular student is learning. And clicking on that title should start the mp3 to play.

Is this possible?

Thanks for your help

(My G4 runs OS 9.2)

No one? I didn't find anything helpful when I searched for posts about alias'. I would appreciate your advice.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    Quote:

No one? I didn't find anything helpful when I searched for posts about alias'. I would appreciate your advice.

Thanks anyway. Have a wonderful life.
  • Reply 3 of 8
    progmacprogmac Posts: 1,850member
    i'm not sure i understand. what you need. couldn't you just create a folder for each student and put aliases to the MP3s inside those folders? that way if you have one MP3 you wouldn't have to copy the actual file multiple times to each folder.

other than that, maybe 30 playlists in iTunes?
  • Reply 4 of 8
    Quote:

Originally posted by progmac

i'm not sure i understand. what you need. couldn't you just create a folder for each student and put aliases to the MP3s inside those folders? that way if you have one MP3 you wouldn't have to copy the actual file multiple times to each folder.

other than that, maybe 30 playlists in iTunes?

Hi Progmac