Lag in Office

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I've been using a mac for a few months now, but I've noticed something that's been bothering me for the past while.

Why is there lag when typing in Microsoft Word, or Excel? I'm in Safari right now and whatever I type is showing up on the screen right away. And I type REALLY fast.

I have the new PB with 512mb or RAM. Not saying anything, but it's not SUPPOSED to be a slow computer... What am I missing here?

....and on a sidenote, what's the minumum "USABLE" ram requirements for applications such as Photoshop or Dreamweaver? I've used them in development before on a PC with 512mb or RAM no problem, and on a slower machine. Do I HAVE to upgrade to a gig? Virtual PC is extremely sluggish with my current setup, is OS X that memory hungry?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    It's not exactly a new phenomenon. Seems to me to it's an M$ built-in "feature." As in, aren't you lucky we haven't completely crippled this sh*t.

You're right, you have a fast computer and there's no good reason this should happen.

I think about how Apple has made the iPod the same for both platforms. It's a philosophy that seeks excellence.

Now what might the other way suggest...?
  • Reply 2 of 10
    I have a 1.5 PB with 2 gigs of memory and there is still a lag in Office at times - and I don't type very fast. I think it is more their programming than anything else. Pages is faster and I prefer it when I don't have to work on a lot of tables.

As for more memory, I originally added a (3rd party) gig stick when I bought the PB and later moved to 2 gigs when I could afford it. For heavy use I only work in PS Elements 3, but have some very large files and appreciated the bump. Macs love extra memory and it's an investment you'll appreciate if you add a gig stick.
  • Reply 3 of 10
    finboyfinboy Posts: 383member