Comparing desktop vs. laptop speeds

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Assuming the same bus speed, and MHz, is it fair to say that a G4 chips for a laptop are slower than those for a desktop tower?

And why?

I've been considering the Powerbook 667 a 733 Tower and the 700/800 iMac?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    logan calelogan cale Posts: 1,281member
    If a laptop and a desktop both have an 800 MHz G4 processor, a 100 MHz Bus and 512 MB of RAM, why would one be slower than the other?

(I'm not an expert, so I don't really no anything. Just seems logical to me...)
  • Reply 2 of 11
    amorphamorph Posts: 7,112member
    The laptop will appear (and be) slower in some tasks, CPU and memory and bus being equal, because the video accelerator is weaker and the hard drive and optical drive are slower.

Depending on what you hope to be doing with the machine, that's a perfectly reasonable tradeoff to gain portability.
  • Reply 3 of 11
    satchmosatchmo Posts: 2,699member
    I just assumed that laptops used a different varient of G4chips that needed to be cooler and hence less powerful.

But yeah, I know it sounds logical that same specs should mean same speed.

Somehow I remember some of the G3 iMacs were faster than equivalent G3 iBooks.
  • Reply 4 of 11
    emaneman Posts: 7,204member
    [quote]Originally posted by MacAgent:

<strong>If a laptop and a desktop both have an 800 MHz G4 processor, a 100 MHz Bus and 512 MB of RAM, why would one be slower than the other?

(I'm not an expert, so I don't really no anything. Just seems logical to me...)</strong><hr></blockquote>

Hard drive speed.
  • Reply 5 of 11
    powerdocpowerdoc Posts: 8,123member
    The weakest point of a laptop is the HD, the second point is the graphic chipset. The third point is the lack of L3cache (but there is no L3 cache in the LCD i mac or powermac G4 800.
  • Reply 6 of 11
    logan calelogan cale Posts: 1,281member