Teachers/students - iPad feature requests.

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
As a teacher I would want -

Hardware

1. Long battery life and/or hot swappable and/or superfast recharge.

2. 9x11 screen (Paper dimension plus a little room for the dock menu)

3. Rugged with screen protected.

Software

1. Easy document distribution and collection to/from student's iPads

2. Total control/monitoring over students use in class.

3. Tight integration with a grading/student management ap

4. Calculator and algebra ap.

5. Ap for quick feedback on poll type questions.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    just incase it is not assumed, it has have handwriting recognition
  • Reply 2 of 10
    kishankishan Posts: 732member
    It should have the ability to run Palm or Windows Mobile software or else it would be pretty useless. That is if it is to be of a smaller form factor.
  • Reply 3 of 10
    Quote:

Originally posted by Kishan

It should have the ability to run Palm or Windows Mobile software or else it would be pretty useless. That is if it is to be of a smaller form factor.

I experimented with using the palm in class and it's just too small. I believe we need a form factor that can exactly replace paper assignments.

Actually, if I was being unrealistic I would request a dual screen tablet - one for an assignment sheet and one for book material.
  • Reply 4 of 10
    cubistcubist Posts: 954member
    Wow! Huge. I suppose you want a color display, too? Motion video? It will be horribly expensive. In most of our previous tablet threads, we have settled on a roughly 4x6 inch screen area.