computer completely messed up!!!!!! pleeeease help!

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
hi - i really don't know too much about computers and i apparently decided somewhere along the line that i was an expert. ok, wrong. i wrecked my computer, can ANYONE pleeeease help?? here's what i did:

i got an ipod nano from work and thought, great, i'll install the software.

i then realized that both of the accounts on my mac os x 10.3 have somehow been changed from admin accounts to standard accounts. (makes NO sense - but it happened). which means at this point there is no admin account on my own computer (which obviosly also means that i am unable to install new software).

ok, here's where i thought i was ms.computer hacker 2006:

did tons of research online to discover i may be able to go in under single user mode enter some codes to make my computer think i was turning it on for the 1st time and i would be able to set up an account which would be the admin account. at which point i could go back into my computer, sign in with my new admin account and grant my old standard accounts admin capabilities. great. OR NOT!

here are the codes i used:

fsck -yf

mount -uw /

rm /var/db/.AppleSetupDone

reboot