Im new to Macs! Advice much appreciated!

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hi

Ive pre ordered the macbook pro. Never touched a Mac in my life (except for checking my email in the apple stores) and current lap and desktop are Sony Vaios.

Anyways, im making the jump for now to see what its like.

I just hope i dont run into software incompatibilites..! (media players, office, adobe, photoshops, messenger etcetc)

Am planning to get a few airport express and hook them up to the varius sound systems around my place so can control the music via my laptop (and hook my nano up too)

Also planning to sign up to T mobile wireless network thing so can use my laptop in starbucks.. is that the best option? From what i can see, throughout London and most of America, its a pretty widespread network... i think you can buy one hour options or prepaid at the stores anyways..?

Well, any advice on what else i can do to optimise the laptop? Anymust have software for everyday use?

Thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 24
    Welcome to Mac. A nice way to start, it seems to me!

Can't comment on the new books any better than what has been printed or said about them, but about software incompaitibilities, the files produced are generally cross-platform, but the actual programs will need to be Mac versions unless they are run using VPC from Microsoft. Intel Mac versions of programs are rolling out thjis year and beyond... You may want to read up on universal binaries if you haven't already.

Anout the wireless thing, I've heard others like it, but that is seems expensive. Maybe that's improved, though...?
  • Reply 2 of 24
    If you like the keyboard for input, LaunchBar should be looked at. It is part of my everyday usage. How it works on a new MacIntel, I cannot say, but I am going to find out.
  • Reply 3 of 24
    Not necesarily for everyday use, but I like Roxio Toast and Jam for cd burning, etc and Delicious Library to keep track of media...