question about games

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
i'm new to macs, and i wanted to know if like windows do you need to put the game cd into the mac every time you want to play?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    bergzbergz Posts: 1,045member
    Unless it's cracked or

• Reply 2 of 11
    There is an application called Roxio Toast that you can use to make "fakes" of your cd's for your games. You pop in the cd, fire up Toast, make an "image" (it's still the size of your cd/dvd, 700MB for a cd, up to 8.5GB for a dvd, so make sure you have hard drive space), save it to the folder which has your game (after you have your file, make sure you get info--right click and choose get info and check the "locked box"--this fools the computer into thinking it's an actual cd, not just a rewritten cd), and then whenever you want to fire up your game that you need to play, just double-click your .toast image, mount the disk, and you're good to go.
  • Reply 3 of 11
    boemaneboemane Posts: 311member
    Quote:

Originally posted by speed_the_collapse

There is an application called Roxio Toast that you can use to make "fakes" of your cd's for your games. You pop in the cd, fire up Toast, make an "image" (it's still the size of your cd/dvd, 700MB for a cd, up to 8.5GB for a dvd, so make sure you have hard drive space), save it to the folder which has your game (after you have your file, make sure you get info--right click and choose get info and check the "locked box"--this fools the computer into thinking it's an actual cd, not just a rewritten cd), and then whenever you want to fire up your game that you need to play, just double-click your .toast image, mount the disk, and you're good to go.

You can do this with Disk Utility as well.. and that comes with every copy of OS X... Pop in the CD and choose File -> Image from device, and off you go
  • Reply 4 of 11
    ebbyebby Posts: 3,110member